Interviewed at HTML Editor Reviews

I was recently interviewed by Eric Barstad for HTML Editor Reviews, a site that is dedicated to reviewing HTML coding tools. I was asked a few pretty simple questions about my development environment and what software I use.

As some of you may know, I am a long time user of BBEdit. What you probably do not know is that I have recently started using TextMate as my primary code editor. I intend to write something about my reasons for switching and the pros and cons of each piece of software. Until then you can read my brief answers to the questions in Celebrity Interview: Roger Johansson at HTML Editor Reviews (and I had nothing to do with the “Celebrity” thing in the title of that article ;-p).

Posted on May 5, 2006 in Interviews, Quicklinks

Comments

  1. Nice interview, Roger.

    I have been using Textmate for quite some time now and I love it. I dont mind the FTP not being built in, as I am using transmit for my FTP and its a great tool.

    I simply love the interface, the snippets, and the terminal access. It makes development time much quicker.

    Congrats, you’re a celebrity!

  2. May 5, 2006 by stu

    What an unfortunate name that man has.

  3. Thanks again for the interview, Roger, and now the link as well. Sorry about the “celebrity” tag, but it’s a bit more succinct than “well-known web developer and blogger.” ;)

    Stu, I wondered how long it would take for the name gags to start… :P

  4. I think Robert Nyman put Eric up to adding the “Celebrity” thing in the title. ;)

  5. This all makes sense. Your unfathomable patience comes from fishing; your ability for constant informative (notwithstanding article research and development) article publishing comes from espresso.

    Do you tie your own flies?

  6. May 5, 2006 by Roger Johansson (Author comment)

    Eric: Yeah I suppose it is ;-).

    Phil: That would not surprise me a bit!

    Sean: I prefer spin fishing to fly fishing, so I don’t use flies. If I did I would probably tie some and buy some.

  7. Textmate = one reason to getting a Mac. (I still need a couple more to spend a lot of mula on one.)

  8. Oh, Phil and Roger, I actually had nothing to do with it! :-)

    Nice interview. Which colleague tipped you onto TextMate? The one I know?

    And the book you chose looks intriguing! I just might pick that one up (given that you get commision, of course ;-)).

  9. May 5, 2006 by Roger Johansson (Author comment)

    Robert: Yep, Anton is to blame for the TextMate thing.

    I think you’ll love A Short History of Nearly Everything. It’s one of the best books I have ever read.

  10. May 6, 2006 by Rob

    I use Dreamweaver and while it is a WYSIWYG editor I use it mostly in code view and really like the auto completion. I also use BBEdit but it hasn’t evolved as fast as other editors. Textmate looks pretty good, but it doesn’t have the autocompletion on the fly which I really find very usefull. You can autocomplete with the alt+com+. key command but I find it cumbersome. TextMate have some nice features like snippets and templates and the price is very good compared to both BBEdit and Dreamweaver.

    Lets see what made Roger change to TextMate.

    //Rob

  11. May 8, 2006 by Matthew Pettitt

    Wouldn’t know about the editor choices (not on a Mac, still), but I can wholeheartedly agree with the book choice. The audiobook version is good too.

  12. May 8, 2006 by Red

    Hey..

    I have only ever useed dreamweaver, but often muse upon the fact that I have never used it in wysiwyg mode… only coding.

    I tried UEStudio but…. a) missed the autocomplete for stuff like php b) it sometimes has strange rendering problems such as making my collapsed functions diappear. c) I like the site synching on DW (though in version 8 it seems a little buggy)

    BTW I use a pc

    Can someone tell me if my choice in using dreamweaver is fundamentally flawed in some way, or just a waste of money (I’m ok with the latter cos I’m loaded)

  13. May 8, 2006 by Roger Johansson (Author comment)

    Red: Dreamweaver is a decent application, so I don’t think your choice is flawed. I don’t use it for several reasons, which are covered in my Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 Review.

Comments are disabled for this post (read why), but if you have spotted an error or have additional info that you think should be in this post, feel free to contact me.